top of page

A long road back to Lincoln


Bree and Austin thought it would be fun to steel my phone. Not so funny now!

It is a pretty known fact that I am a big rule follower. It is kind of a joke at my house that one of the rules I am best at following is not going over the speed limit. So let's just say when I left home at 1:00 for the first time on Monday, I generously told myself that I would be to Lincoln by 4:00 no problem. Just in time to drive across Lincoln and pick up my chemo medicine before Option care closed at five. It was not until I got to Holbrook that I realized I needed to turn around and get some things that I left at home. Home to Holbrook is not that far, but home to Holbrook, Holbrook to home and back through Holbrook took more time and gas then I had anticipated or wanted it to. After stopping to get some gas, I was finally on my way back to the big city of Lincoln. Two hours into the drive, I started to get nervous that making it to Lincoln before five wasn't going to happen. Finally by 4:25 I had made it back to the big city. I actually found Option Care fairly easy and my medicine was ready for pickup. Option care told me that they owed me eight out of the ten pills that I was supposed to get because they didn't have as many as they thought they did. But they were nice enough to deliver them to me on campus a day later. Still, in some way, I managed to get out of there in a timely manner. Somehow, in the 205 miles between home and Lincoln my phone went from 46%- 2% (No, I am NOT a member of the text and drive club) so I was hoping to make it back to Harper without using much phone power. At the stop light between south 69th street and Pioneers Blvd, the bug started acting funny. As I came to a stop at the red light the seat beneath me started to shake. Soon my dashboard lit up telling me I had a battery problem. Of course, at this exact moment, the light turns green. There I am sitting in the way of a line of cars, three hours from home, with a phone so close to shutting off. Now, if you are assuming that I had a huge crying breakdown right there in the middle of the road. Trust me, i'm as shocked as you are that you are wrong. Somehow turning it off and turning it back on again actually did work. I managed to turn and park in a small store center parking lot. My phone stayed charged enough to somehow call my mom and tell her what had happened. With her being three hours away, I knew she could not come immediately come and save me. I finally was able to get ahold of Austin. Forty-five minutes later Austin, Matthew, and Evan show up to my rescue. My phone was on one percent at this time so using it to navigate back to campus is a big no go. Matthew jumped in the car with me while Evan and Austin followed us back to campus. The bug made it just fine! No signs of previous trouble and we were finally back to the dorm. Later we decided to go to Barnes and Noble to look at books they closed at nine when I had googled it and it said ten. Apparently the one Barnes and Noble I looked up was in Kansas and they did in fact close at ten. Another fact is that the one in Lincoln actually closes at nine. By the time we got there it was closed. So we went to Target instead and I got my book. Overall it was a stressful day but I had great people around to help me. Until next time, Be Brave friends!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page