top of page

...to the coach and parent that helped me fall in love with something new


 

To,

The coach and parent that helped me fall in love with something new.

 

First, let me say thank you. Thank you for making me fall in love with something that means a lot to both of you.

While it is true, I may have complained a lot in the process, your help made me start to love something I use to assume that I liked. It wasn't the hailstorm and downpour that you made us practice through (because it was going to end SOON) or all of the times you made me play just one more hole. Although that hailstorm is a good story! It was the countless hours both of you put into trying to fix my swing or the way I stood. It was your enthusiasm for the game that lots of people dismiss and call boring. But mostly it was your belief in me and the idea that I could be better.

It makes me sad that I only had two years to play the game that I loved in high school, but I want you to know, I loved every minute. Even if I did not show it at times. A lot of good memories came out of the time that we spent on the course (or driving there). Thank you for helping me to find something that I looked forward to and competing in.

Thank you for standing behind me while I tee'd off on the last hole of the last high school meet that I would compete in. Having both of you and mom there meant the world to me, even if we were all a little teary-eyed.

Thank you for teaching me that the bad hole is done and that there are 13 new ones ahead of you. Thank you for never giving up on me and for sharing your love for a game with me. I learned a lot more than golf in those 18 short holes and I could not have done it without you.

Thank you for giving me a new love.

Sincerely,

Me

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page